Spring 2014 MAASA Meeting Minutes 28 February 2014 University of Nebraska-Lincoln

- 1. Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 5:06 C.S.T. with Joseph Bauerkemper, Alan Blair, Matt Calihman, Tom Collins, Jake Friefeld (webmaster), Mingwei Huang, Jeannette Jones, Chris Kaluzienski, John Kinder, Michael Krysko, Ben Looker, Tom Oates, and Sherrie Tucker present. Ruben Flores joined the meeting a little later.
- **2. Introductions**: New Board members were introduced.
- **3. Approval of Agenda**: The agenda was approved.
- 4. Awards Committees Reports:
 - **4a. Stone-Suderman Award Committee Report**: The committee recommended Bob Johnson's "'Typical of Her Race': Cultural Pluralism and the Editorial Records of *Survey Graphic*" (52.2), and this motion passed.
 - **4b. Katzman-Yetman Award Committee Report**: The committee recommended Allison Wanger's "These Honored Dead': Race, Gender, the National Cemetery System, and the Politics of Cold War Memory," and this motion passed. There was also some discussion of possibly setting the Katzman-Yetman Award submission deadline after the conference in order to increase the number of submissions, but this discussion did not culminate in a motion.
 - **4c. Kolmer Award Committee Report**: Sherrie Tucker was announced as the winner of the 2013 award. There was some discussion of possible strategies by which to increase the number of nominations: streamline the call-for-nominations language, revise the rules so that a nominee must meet only one of the current criteria, directly contact AS departments in the region and solicit nominations, and have the committee make nominations but also issue a general call for nominations. A motion was made to create an *ad hoc* committee to revise the procedure (for consideration by the Board), and the motion passed.
- **5.** Discussion of Nominations and Votes for New Officers and Representatives: The results of the nomination/election process are as follows.
 - **5a. President**: Tom Oates (beginning in June 2014).
 - **5b. Vice President**: Ben Looker (beginning June 2014).

- **5c.** Treasurer: Michael Krysko (new term beginning June 2014).
- **5d. Secretary**: Jeannette Jones (beginning June 2014).
- **5e. Elected Representatives (at-large)**: Michael Krysko (new term beginning June 2014).
- **5f. Faculty Representatives (degree-granting institutions)**: Ben Looker and Tom Oates (new terms beginning June 2014). Also, UMN needs to elect a new representative, now that their suspension is over. Jeannette Jones and Mingwei Huang will contact the UMN AS chairperson about this matter.
- **5g.** Corrections to List of Board Members: The website needs to be corrected to indicate that Tom Collins's and Ruben Flores's terms will end in 2015.
- **6. Financial Report:** Michael Krysko gave a brief overview of Walt Kihm's financial report (distributed to Board members).
- 7. *AMSJ* Editors Report: Sherrie Tucker and Chris Kaluzienski presented a formal report on the journal's editorial plans and finances (distributed to Board members). Sherrie and Chris noted some discrepancies between Walt Kihm's financial report (distributed to Board members) and the journal's own records (distributed to Board members); Sherrie and Chris said that they will follow up with Walt. The Board approved the journal's proposed operating budget for July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015 (distributed to Board members). The Board approved a motion to reimburse fully, up to the total amounts approved in the journal's operating budget, conference and/or meeting expenses for the two editors and one graduate editorial representative. The Board requested that future *AMSJ* reports indicate the numbers of issues printed/sold.
- **8. Webmaster Report:** Jake Friefeld discussed his work with Matt Thomas to move the website to the new independent domain, and he discussed plans for the website (e.g., creating tighter connections the MAASA and *AMSJ* websites). Ben Looker made a motion to rehire Jake and to pay him a total of \$6000 (the annual salary of \$3500 + a special, one-time fee of \$2500 for new work overhauling the website and expanding our social media reach) for fiscal year 2014-15, with the provision that we will look into the prevailing pay for such work and take this information into account in the future. This motion passed.
- **9.** Conference Report: Tom Oates reviewed the 2014 MAASA Conference program (distributed to Board members). Jeannette Jones discussed the conference budget (distributed to Board members) and reminded Board members that they must pay the conference registration fee. A motion was made to give a gift (price not to exceed \$30) to UNL Ethnic Studies administrative assistant

Nancy Knapp to recognize her efforts on behalf of the conference and MAASA. The motion passed. The Board expressed a general sense that, to facilitate the planning of future conferences, either the President or the Vice President should be from the conference institution.

- **10. Discussion of the ASA's Resolution to Boycott Israeli Academic Institutions**: This brief discussion ended with the Board's deferring additional formal discussion until the Fall 2014 meeting.
- 11. New Business: No new business was placed on the agenda.